Monday, October 28, 2013

All the Lovely Bad Ones and Some Good Ones too! #IMWAYR October 28, 2013

I I delivered a lot of creepy, scary book talks this week as we explored HORROR Fiction as a genre. Mary Downing Hahn was right at the top of the list along with Goose Bumps, Scary Stories, and the book in greatest demand in the ECDC Library. The Big Book of Texas Ghost Stories. 

I couldn't keep up with students wanting Halloween themed and really scary books. Just as soon as I book talked a title and set up a display, I had to go seeking new books to refill the empty displays. 

Cowboy Clifford shared his favorite Halloween reads
and talked to kids about dressing up for the school Literature Parade. 
Integrating math into a Halloween lesson is always easy when you have books like 16 Runaway Pumpkins (theme doubles). It makes for a fun lesson and count aloud. 
The Runaway Pumpkin was a good pairing. 

Double rainbow was gorgeous. 
These were some nice things that happened to me this past week. The Caller Times did a spread on Coastal Bend Book Fairs and my school fair was the focus. My students had their big moment of fame being quoted and featured. I was very pleased with how well they represented their school.

My Favorite Book of the Week:

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
There is a book thief in town snatching all the bedtime books just as families are settling in for their nightly reads. Who would do such a dastardly deed? One brave little bunny sets out to solve the mystery and return the books back to their rightful owners.

The Snatchabook is my  new favorite read aloud book. You just know when something magic appears in your hands in the  form of a children's book. My head is spinning with ideas to use along with this precious story that reminds me a bit of How the Grinch Stole Christmas. Snatchabook would be a great read aloud choice for a Family Reading Night event.

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Patrick O'Shanahan walks in to breakfast one morning and is surprised to find a cow standing there. When Patrick's father arrives and decides to make French toast without noticing the cow, Patrick decides to help his dad by getting the best in farm fresh products that have appeared in his kitchen in the form of farm animals.
YA Books

Crash (Visions, #1)Crash by Lisa McMann

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Crash is a forbidden love story in the vein of Romeo and Juliet. Jules' family lives above their restaurant as do their rivals the Angotti's. Jules has been in love with Sawyer Angotti for years but for the  past several years, he has been shunning her and she doesn't understand why unless it's all about the family rivalry. Jules now has bigger problems than unrequited love, she is seeing horrific visions of a snowplow crashing into a building that leaves nine dead bodies in the snow and one of those belongs to Sawyer. Everywhere Jules looks, she sees the visions of the crash on billboards, windows, TV and computer screens, and now they are coming faster and more frequent. Can Jules unravel the clues hidden in the visions and save Sawyer or is he doomed to die? What if the visions are not real and she is going insane? What's a girl in love to do?
View all my reviews

This past week, I fell victim to a book spoiler when I became curious about a Twitter game #fictionaldeathsIwillnevergetover. 
I am going to share this with  my fellow librarians at our next PD session. Just slap a bit of butcher paper up (oh, in the shape of a tombstone) and see what everyone comes up with. This topic will make for a good book chat for our university students too. For me, the hardest death to bear was when Beth, the kindest, sweetest, dearest of the March sisters passed away. It still breaks my heart to this day. I threw Harry Potter books across the room at the deaths of Dumbledore, Sirius Black, and Fred Weasley (NO! not a twin. I have twins. How can they live without each other?) That poor Harry Potter couldn't ever catch a break. I felt so depressed after reading about their deaths. 

Currently Reading: 

Dozens of Picture Books in preparation for writing daily blog posts for Picture Book Month as a Picture Book Blogger and to prepare for #virtualbookclub's Mock Caldecott chat in November. 

Picture Book Month information

The List by Siobhan Vivian
It happens every year. A list is posted, and one girl from each grade is chosen as the prettiest, and another is chosen as the ugliest. Nobody knows who makes the list. It almost doesn't matter. The damage is done the minute it goes up.

Next up:

I am really looking forward to reading the conclusion of this series.

So, what are you reading?


  1. I'm always excited when there's a book everyone's been rushing to get their hands on. This past week has definitely been Allegiant. Last week was The House of Hades. Books I'll probably never read myself but I'm glad others are excited about them.

  2. House of Hades was the other book I purchased yesterday.

  3. Love The Snatchabook love! And yes, perfect choice for family read aloud night! I LOVE The Runaway Pumpkin So much fun to read aloud. What a cute display you shared. Enjoy Allegiant. I also want to read this final book in the series but just had many many requests come in from the library so it will be a while!

    1. I am looking forward to reading Alligant but have to finish The List first.

  4. What an interesting idea to have a bulletin board about the deaths of characters. There are so many times that I am really affected by this. I agree with you about wanting to throw the Harry Potter books across the room with the deaths of all of those characters. I am also looking forward to Allegiant although it seems there is something sad that happens and I am not looking forward to finding out what that is.

    1. Unfortunately, I have seen the spoilers but it helps me mentally prepare myself.

  5. So many great suggestions! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Speaking of throwing a book, I just did that last night when I finished reading Dance with Dragons, the 5th book in the song of ice and fire series by george rr martin. THAT exasperated and upset. I can see more Snatchabook love here! Nice. Thanks for sharing all these.


Thank you for verifying. Your efforts are appreciated.